House Committee on Transportation, Highways and Public Works and Senate Committee on Transportation, Highways and Public Works

Minutes of Joint Meeting 2021-2022 Interim August 20, 2021

I. CALL TO ORDER

Representative Ken Brass, vice chairman of the House Committee on Transportation, Highways and Public Works, called the meeting to order at 9:24 a.m., at the Joseph S. Yenni Building in Jefferson, Louisiana.

II. ROLL CALL

HOUSE MEMBERS PRESENT:

Representative Ken Brass, Vice Chairman Representative Mack Cormier Representative Barbara Freiberg Representative Foy Gadberry

Representative Pat Moore
Representative Robert Owen

Representative Rodney Schamerhorn

Representative Tanner Magee

HOUSE MEMBERS ABSENT:

Representative Kathy Edmonston Representative Michael Firment Representative Cedric Glover Representative Dodie Horton Representative Charles Owen Representative Vincent Pierre Representative Larry Selders

SENATE MEMBERS PRESENT:

Senator Patrick McMath, chairman Senator Gary Carter Jr., vice chairman Senator Edward J. "Ed" Price Senator Gary Smith

HOUSE STAFF MEMBERS PRESENT:

LeeAnne Sharlow, attorney Carlesia Bibbins, attorney Brandy Phillips, committee administrative assistant

SENATE MEMBERS ABSENT:

Senator Louie Bernard Senator Barrow Peacock Senator J. Rogers Pope

SENATE STAFF PRESENT:

Xavier Alexander, attorney Candace Shields, committee secretary

ADDITIONAL ATTENDEES PRESENT:

Danny Leming, House sergeant at arms James Bullock, Senate sergeant at arms

III. DISCUSSION

Senator Gary Smith addressed the committee and introduced Senator Patrick McMath, chairman, and Senator Gary Carter, vice chairman as newly appointed members to the Senate Committee on Transportation, Highways and Public Works.

<u>To review, receive public input, and approve the Fiscal Year 2022-2023 Port Construction and</u> Development Priority Program

Secretary Shawn Wilson, Department of Transportation and Development, addressed the committee and gave an overview of the Fiscal Year 2022-2023 Port Construction and Development Priority Program. He provided a handout, Exhibit A, which is included in the committee records.

Commissioner Renee Lapeyrolerie, office of multimodal commerce, addressed the committee regarding the ports and the needs of their tenants.

Ms. Mary Bourgoyne, director of ports, office of multimodal commerce, addressed the committee relative to the list of proposed projects for the 2022-2023 Port Construction and Development Priority Program. She provided a handout, Exhibit B, which is included in the committee records.

Further action was taken by the committee on the approval of the Fiscal Year 2022-2023 Port Construction and Development Priority Program at a later point in the meeting. Please check for the subsequent action to complete the record of discussion and motions on the program approval.

To approve use of Construction Management at Risk (CMAR) for a project under \$15 million for the construction of a police station for the city of Carencro pursuant to R.S. 38:2225.2.4

Mr. Don Chauvin, city manager, city of Carencro, addressed the committee and gave an overview of the project for the construction of a police station for the city of Carencro. He provided a handout, Exhibit C, which is included in the committee records.

Further action was taken by the committee on the approval of the use of Construction Management at Risk (CMAR) for a project under \$15 million for the construction of a police station for the city of Carencro pursuant to R.S. 38:2225.2.4 at a later point in the meeting. Please check for the subsequent action to complete the record of discussion and motions on the project approval.

The committee recessed at 9:50 a.m. The committee reconvened at 11:22 a.m.

<u>To review, receive public input, and approve the Fiscal Year 2022-2023 Port Construction and</u> Development Priority Program

This is a continuation of the discussion on the approval of the Fiscal Year 2022-2023 Port Construction and Development Priority Program from earlier in the meeting. Please check for the prior action to complete the record of discussion and motions on the program approval.

Representative Freiberg offered a motion to approve the Fiscal Year 2022-2023 Port Construction and Development Priority Program. Without objection, the motion passed by a vote of 8 yeas and 0 nays. Representatives Brass, Cormier, Freiberg, Gadberry, Moore, Robert Owen, Schamerhorn, and Magee voted yea.

Senator McMath offered a motion to approve the Fiscal Year 2022-2023 Port Construction and Development Priority Program. Without objection, the motion passed by a vote of 4 yeas and 0 nays. Senators McMath, Carter, Price, and Smith voted yea.

To approve use of Construction Management at Risk (CMAR) for a project under \$15 million for the construction of a police station for the city of Carencro pursuant to R.S. 38:2225.2.4

This is a continuation of the discussion on the approval of use of Construction Management at Risk (CMAR) for a project under \$15 million for the construction of a police station for the city of Carencro pursuant to R.S. 38:2225.2.4 from earlier in the meeting. Please check for the prior action to complete the record of discussion and motions on the project approval.

Representative Gadberry offered a motion to approve the use of Construction Management at Risk (CMAR) for a project under \$15 million for the construction of a police station for the city of Carencro pursuant to R.S. 38:2225.2.4. Without objection, the motion passed by a vote of 8 yeas and 0 nays. Representatives Brass, Cormier, Freiberg, Gadberry, Moore, Robert Owen, Schamerhorn, and Magee voted yea.

Senator Price offered a motion to approve the use of Construction Management at Risk (CMAR) for a project under \$15 million for the construction of a police station for the city of Carencro pursuant to R.S. 38:2225.2.4. Without objection, the motion passed by a vote of 4 yeas and 0 nays. Senators McMath, Carter, Price, and Smith voted yea.

IV. OTHER BUSINESS

There was no other business.

V. ANNOUNCEMENTS

There were no announcements.

VI. ADJOURNMENT

Representative Gadberry offered a motion to adjourn. Without objection, the motion passed by a vote of 9 yeas and 0 nays. Representatives Wright, Brass, Cormier, Freiberg, Gadberry, Moore, Robert Owen, and Schamerhorn voted yea.

Senator Price offered a motion to adjourn. Without objection, the motion passed by a vote of 6 yeas and 0 nays. Senators McMath, Carter, Price, and Smith voted yea.

The meeting was adjourned at 11:29 a.m.	
Respectfully submitted,	
Chairman Mark Wright House Committee on Transportation, Highways and Public Works	
Date adopted:	
The committee has acknowledged on	, that these minutes were prepared in

accordance with the rules of the House of Representatives.