House Committee on Transportation, Highways and Public Works

Minutes of Meeting 2023 Regular Session April 24, 2023

I. CALL TO ORDER

Representative Mark Wright, chairman of the House Committee on Transportation, Highways and Public Works, called the meeting to order at 10:02 a.m. in Room 3, in the state capitol in Baton Rouge, Louisiana.

II. ROLL CALL

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Representative Mark Wright, chairman

Representative Kendricks "Ken" Brass, vice chairman

Representative Mack Marcel Cormier

Representative Kathy Edmonston

Representative Michael "Gabe" Firment

Representative Barbara Reich Freiberg

Representative Foy Bryan Gadberry

Representative Dodie Horton

Representative Ed Larvadain, III

Representative Patricia "Pat" Moore

Representative Charles Anthony Owen

Representative Vincent J. Pierre

Representative Rodney Wayne Schamerhorn

Representative Larry Selders

MEMBERS ABSENT:

Representative Cedric B. Glover Representative Robert "Bob" Owen

STAFF MEMBERS PRESENT:

Allison Williams, legislative analyst
Jennifer Winkler, legislative analyst
Darcas Deverteuil, committee administrative assistant

ADDITIONAL ATTENDEES PRESENT:

Vivian Hurst, sergeant at arms

III. DISCUSSION OF LEGISLATION

House Bill No. 425 by Representative Bourriaque

Representative Wright announced that action on House Bill No. 425, which establishes the Acadiana Watershed District, was voluntarily deferred.

House Bill No. 533 by Representative Mike Johnson

Representative Mike Johnson presented House Bill No. 533, which changes the composition and qualifications of the board of commissioners of the Red River, Atchafalaya, and Bayou Boeuf Levee District, and provided a handout, Exhibit A, which is included in the committee records.

Representative Wright offered amendments to:

- (1) Change the effective date from August 1, 2023, to June 1, 2024, along with provisions governing appointments, rotation of the president and vice president of the board, and termination of the terms of the current commissioners.
- (2) Change the boundary in which appointees must reside from within the geographical district of the port to within the district of the parish.
- (3) Remove the effective upon signature of the governor provision.

Representative Wright offered a motion to adopt the proposed amendments. Without objection, the amendments were adopted by a vote of 13 yeas and 0 nays. Representatives Wright, Brass, Cormier, Edmonston, Firment, Freiberg, Horton, Larvadain, Moore, Charles Owen, Pierre, Schamerhorn, and Selders voted yea.

Representative Deshotel, Avoyelles Parish, 3300 Main St., Hessmer, LA 71341, spoke in opposition to House Bill No. 533.

Ben Russo, Central Louisiana Regional Port, 600 River Port Rd., Alexandria, LA, no zip code provided, (318) 613-3142, spoke in support of House Bill No. 533.

Chris Roy Jr. Rapides Paish, 1100 M.L.K. Dr., Alexandria, LA, no zip code provided, (318) 487-9337, spoke in support of House Bill No. 533.

Representative Larvadain offered a motion to report House Bill No. 533 with amendments. Without objection, House Bill No. 533 was reported with amendments by a vote of 14 yeas and 0 nays. Representatives Wright, Brass, Cormier, Edmonston, Firment, Freiberg, Gadberry, Horton, Larvadain, Moore, Charles Owen, Pierre, Schamerhorn, and Selders voted yea.

Witness cards submitted by individuals who did not speak are as follows: 1 in opposition and 1 for information only.

Vice-Chairman Brass in the Chair.

House Bill No. 581 by Representative Wright

Representative Wright presented House Bill No. 581, which provides relative to the creation of the Louisiana Port Authority.

Congressman Garret Graves, 2341 Energy Drive, Ste. 1200, Baton Rouge, LA 70808, (225) 442-1731, spoke for information only on House Bill No. 581.

Jennifer Marusak, Ports Association of Louisiana, P.O. Box 82880, Baton Rouge, LA 70884, (225) 572-1916, spoke in opposition to House Bill No. 581.

Eric Kalivoda, DOTD, 1201 Capital Access Rd., Baton Rouge, LA 70802, (225)379-1200, spoke for information only on House Bill No. 581.

Larry Collins, LED, 617 N. 3rd St., Baton Rouge, LA 70804, no telephone number provided, spoke for information only on House Bill No. 581.

Representative Charles Owen offered a motion to report House Bill No. 581 favorably. Without objection, House Bill No. 581 was reported favorably by a vote of 12 yeas and 0 nays. Representatives Wright, Brass, Cormier, Edmonston, Firment, Freiberg, Horton, Larvadain, Moore, Charles Owen, Schamerhorn, and Selders voted yea.

Witness cards submitted by individuals who did not speak are as follows: 1 in support, 6 in opposition, and 4 for information only. Witness cards are included in the committee records.

Statements submitted in accordance with House Rule 14.33 in lieu of appearing before the committee are as follows: 1 in opposition. Copies of these statements are included in the committee records.

Chairman Wright in the Chair.

House Bill No. 555 by Representative Phelps

Representative Phelps presented House Bill No. 555, which establishes an amnesty program for fines, fees, and assessments imposed by the office of motor vehicles.

Staci Hoyt, OMV, 7979 Independence Blvd., Baton Rouge, LA 70806 (225) 270-1556, spoke for information only on House Bill No. 555.

Karen St. Germain, OMV, 7979 Independence Blvd., Baton Rouge, LA 70806, no telephone number provided, spoke for information only on House Bill No. 555.

Robyn Temple, OMV, 7979 Independence Blvd., Baton Rouge, LA 70806, (225) 663-0994, spoke for information only on House Bill No. 555.

Representative Wright offered a motion to voluntarily defer action on House Bill No. 555. Without objection, action on House Bill No. 555 was voluntarily deferred by a vote of 12 yeas and 0 nays. Representatives Wright, Brass, Cormier, Edmonston, Firment, Freiberg, Gadberry, Larvadain, Moore, Charles Owen, Schamerhorn, and Selders voted yea.

IV. OTHER BUSINESS

The minutes from the 2022 Regular Session dated March 15, March 16, March 21, March 22, March 29, April 5, April 11, April 18, April 25, April 26, May 2, May 9, May 16, May 23, May 25, and May 31, 2022, were presented to the committee for approval. Representative Freiberg offered a motion to approve the minutes. Without objection, the motion passed by a vote of 12 yeas and 0 nays. Representatives Wright, Brass, Cormier, Edmonston, Firment, Freiberg, Gadberry, Larvadain, Moore, Charles Owen, Schamerhorn, and Selders voted yea.

V. ANNOUNCEMENTS

There were no announcements.

VI. ADJOURNMENT

Representative Edmonston offered a motion to adjourn. Without objection, the motion passed by a vote of 12 yeas and 0 nays. Representatives Wright, Brass, Cormier, Edmonston, Firment, Freiberg, Gadberry, Larvadain, Moore, Charles Owen, Schamerhorn, and Selders voted yea.

The meeting was adjourned at 12:57 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Chairman Mark Wright House Committee on Transportation, Highways and Public Works

Date adopted: