ROLL CALL AND RECORD VOTE

Committee: Civil Law and Procedure

Location: Room 4 **Staff:** Allison Alonzo, Attorney Jennifer Nguyen, Attorney

Date/Time: 03/19/24 9:00 a.m. Selfillier Ngdyeri, Attorney Megan Sanders, Committee Administrative

Assistant

Myrtus Jarrell, Sergeant at Arms

Michael McCain, Clerk

Cheryl Domino, Sergeant at Arms

Roll Call: 16 Convened: 09:03 AM Adjourned: 12:17 PM

Number of Members: 16
Quorum: 9

Muscarello, Nicholas Present Brown, Chad Present Present Carlson, Josh Carter, Sr., Wilford Present Chenevert, Emily Present Edmonston, Kathy Present Egan, Sr., Peter F. Present Present Glorioso, Brian Leonard Johnson, Mike Present Larvadain, III, Ed Present Melerine, Michael Present Taylor, Sylvia Elaine Present Turner, Christopher Present Ventrella, Lauren Present Wright, Mark Present Wyble, John E. Present

HB24 by MELERINE

Provides relative to evidentiary presumptions in personal injury claims

Amendment: HCAHB24 4469 1034

Motion made by: Melerine, Michael

AMD Motion: Adopt
Vote: 11-0

Vote Date:3/19/2024 11:19:08 AMCarlson, Josh Chenevert, EmilyYea

Edmonston, Kathy Yea Egan, Sr., Peter F. Yea Glorioso, Brian Leonard Yea Larvadain, III, Ed Yea Melerine, Michael Yea Turner, Christopher Yea Wright, Mark Yea Wyble, John E. Yea

Yea

Brown, Chad

Motion made by: Melerine, Michael

Motion: With Amendments

Vote:10-4-1Muscarello, NicholasAbstainVote Pote:3/40/2024 12:45:25 PMBrown, ChadNay

Vote Date:3/19/2024 12:15:25 PMBlown, Chau
Carlson, JoshNay
YeaObjection by:Carter, Sr., WilfordCarter, Sr., WilfordNay

Chenevert, Emily
Edmonston, Kathy
Yea
Egan, Sr., Peter F.
Glorioso, Brian Leonard
Johnson, Mike
Larvadain, III, Ed
Melerine, Michael

Yea

Taylor, Sylvia Elaine Nay
Turner, Christopher Yea
Wright, Mark Yea
Wyble, John E. Yea

HB24 by MELERINE

Final Action: Reported with amendments. (10-4-1)

HB170 by CREWS

Provides with respect to certain lease contracts between governmental entities and individuals

Motion made by: Muscarello, Nicholas

Motion: Defer Voluntary

Vote: 12-0-1 Muscarello, Nicholas Abstain Brown, Chad Yea Vote Date: 3/19/2024 11:05:47 AM

Carlson, Josh Yea Carter, Sr., Wilford Yea Chenevert, Emily Yea Edmonston, Kathy Yea Egan, Sr., Peter F. Yea Glorioso, Brian Leonard Yea Johnson, Mike Yea Larvadain, III, Ed Yea Taylor, Sylvia Elaine Yea Turner, Christopher Yea Wright, Mark Yea

HB170 by CREWS

Final Action: Defer Voluntary. (12-0-1)

HB171 by CREWS

Provides relative to the maintenance of property leased by political subdivisions

Motion made by: Muscarello, Nicholas

Motion: **Defer Voluntary**

Vote: 12-0-1 Muscarello, Nicholas Abstain Brown, Chad Yea Vote Date: 3/19/2024 11:14:04 AM

Carlson, Josh Yea Chenevert, Emily Yea Edmonston, Kathy Yea Egan, Sr., Peter É. Yea Glorioso, Brian Leonard Yea Johnson, Mike Yea Larvadain, III, Ed Yea Melerine, Michael Yea Taylor, Sylvia Elaine Yea Turner, Christopher Yea Wright, Mark Yea

HB171 by CREWS

Final Action: Defer Voluntary. (12-0-1)

HB229 by GREEN

Vote Date:

Requires a three-year prescription on torts

Motion made by: Muscarello, Nicholas

3/19/2024 9:05:10 AM

Motion: **Defer Voluntary**

Vote: 12-0-1 Muscarello, Nicholas Abstain Brown, Chad Yea

Carlson, Josh Yea Chenevert, Emily Yea Egan, Sr., Peter F. Yea Glorioso, Brian Leonard Yea Johnson, Mike Yea Larvadain, III, Ed Yea Melerine, Michael Yea Taylor, Sylvia Elaine Yea

Turner, Christopher Yea Ventrella, Lauren Yea Wyble, John E. Yea

HB229 by GREEN

Final Action: Defer Voluntary. (12-0-1)

Abstain

Abstain

Yea

HB336 by CHENEVERT

Creates the Litigation Financing Disclosure Act

Amendment: HCAHB336 4747 1284

Motion made by: Chenevert, Emily

AMD Motion: Adopt Vote: 12-0-1

Vote Date: 3/19/2024 9:06:57 AM Brown, Chad Yea Carlson, Josh Yea Chenevert, Emily Yea Egan, Sr., Peter F. Yea Glorioso, Brian Leonard Yea Johnson, Mike Yea Larvadain, III, Ed Yea Melerine, Michael Yea Taylor, Sylvia Elaine Yea Turner, Christopher Yea Ventrella, Lauren Yea Wyble, John E. Yea

Muscarello, Nicholas

Muscarello, Nicholas

Brown, Chad

Motion made by: Chenevert, Emily

With Amendments **Motion:**

Vote:

11-4-1 Vote Date: 3/19/2024 11:00:30 AM

Objection by: Larvadain, III, Ed Carlson, Josh Yea Carter, Sr., Wilford Nay Chenevert, Emily Yea Edmonston, Kathy Yea Egan, Sr., Peter F. Yea Glorioso, Brian Leonard Yea Johnson, Mike Yea Larvadain, III, Ed Nay Melerine, Michael Yea Taylor, Sylvia Elaine Nay Turner, Christopher Yea Nay Ventrella, Lauren Wright, Mark Yea Wyble, John E. Yea

HB336 by CHENEVERT

Final Action: Reported with amendments. (11-4-1)