ROLL CALL AND RECORD VOTE

Committee: Civil Law and Procedure

Location: Room 4 Staff: Annie Smith, Attorney
Amy Pirtle, Attorney

Date/Time: 04/25/22 10:00 a.m. Megan Sanders, Committee Administrative

Assistant

Rebecca Marshall, Sergeant at Arms Angela McKnight, Sergeant at Arms

Michael McCain, Clerk Bella Taylor, Clerk

 Roll Call:
 14
 Convened:
 10:03 AM

 Number of Members:
 18
 At Ease:
 10:18 AM

 Quorum:
 10
 At Ease:
 11:38 AM

 Convened:
 11:41 AM

 Miller, Gregory A.
 Present
 Adjourned:
 12:15 PM

Absent

Absent

Amedée, Beryl Present Boyd, Delisha Present

Brown, Chad Absent Carter, Robby Absent

Carter, Robby
Carter, Sr., Wilford Present
Echols, Michael Charles Present
Emerson, Julie Present
Frieman, Lawrence "Larry" Present
Garofalo, Raymond E. Present
Hodges, Valarie Present

Jefferson, Patrick O.
Jenkins, Sam
Johnson, Mike
McCormick, Danny
Muscarello, Nicholas
Nelson, Richard
Present
Present
Present
Present
Present

HB4 by PHILLIP TARVER

Seabaugh, Alan

(Constitutional Amendment) Eliminates the gubernatorial appointment of three members of the State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, providing for an all-elected membership and reducing the membership to eight

Motion made by: Miller, Gregory A.

Motion: Rule 6.8A Report

Vote:12-0Miller, Gregory A.YeaVote Date:4/25/2022 10:17:16 AMAmedée, Beryl
Boyd, DelishaYea

Present

Echols, Michael Charles Yea Emerson, Julie Yea Frieman, Lawrence "Larry" Yea Garofalo, Raymond E. Yea Hodges, Valarie Yea Johnson, Mike Yea McCormick, Danny Yea Muscarello, Nicholas Yea

Yea

Yea

Yea

Motion made by: Miller, Gregory A.

Motion: Without Amendments

Vote:12-0Miller, Gregory A.YeaVote:4/05/2009 40 40 00 AMAmedée, BerylYea

Boyd, Delisha Yea
Echols, Michael Charles Yea
Emerson, Julie Yea
Frieman, Lawrence "Larry" Yea
Garofalo, Raymond E. Yea
Hodges, Valarie Yea
Johnson, Mike Yea
McCormick, Danny Yea

McCormick, Danny Muscarello, Nicholas Seabaugh, Alan

Seabaugh, Alan

HB4 by PHILLIP TARVER

Vote Date:

Final Action: Reported without amendments. (12-0)

4/25/2022 10:18:03 AM

HB53 by FRIEMAN

(Constitutional Amendment) Provides with respect to autonomy in making personal health care decisions

Amendment: HCAHB53 3645 3031

Motion made by: Frieman, Lawrence "Larry"

AMD Motion: Adopt

Vote:10-0-1Miller, Gregory A.AbstainVote:4/95/2003 44:44:28 AMAmedée, BerylYea

Vote Date: 4/25/2022 11:44:28 AM Boyd, Delisha Yea

Echols, Michael Charles Yea Frieman, Lawrence "Larry" Yea Garofalo, Raymond E. Yea Johnson, Mike Yea McCormick, Danny Yea Muscarello, Nicholas Yea Nelson, Richard Yea Seabaugh, Alan Yea

Amendment: excluded medicare/medicaid receivers

Motion made by: Frieman, Lawrence "Larry"

AMD Motion: Adopt

Vote Date:

Vote:13-0-1Miller, Gregory A.Abstain

4/25/2022 11:48:58 AM Amedée, Beryl Yea Boyd, Delisha Yea

Carter, Sr., Wilford Yea Echols, Michael Charles Yea Emerson, Julie Yea Frieman, Lawrence "Larry" Yea Garofalo, Raymond E. Yea Hodges, Valarie Yea Johnson, Mike Yea McCormick, Danny Yea

Muscarello, Nicholas Yea Nelson, Richard Yea Seabaugh, Alan Yea

Motion made by: Frieman, Lawrence "Larry"

Motion: With Amendments

Vote:11-1-1Miller, Gregory A.AbstainVote Date:4/25/2022 12:10:57 PMAmedée, BerylYea

Vote Date:4/25/2022 12:10:57 PWBoyd, DelishaYeaObjection by:Carter, Sr., WilfordCarter, Sr., WilfordNay

Emerson, Julie Yea Frieman, Lawrence "Larry" Yea Garofalo, Raymond E. Yea Hodges, Valarie Yea Johnson, Mike Yea McCormick, Danny Yea Muscarello, Nicholas Yea Nelson, Richard Yea Seabaugh, Alan Yea

HB53 by FRIEMAN

Final Action: Reported with amendments. (11-1-1)

Yea

HB250 by MAGEE

(Constitutional Amendment) Provides for appropriations from the Education Excellence Fund

Amendment: HCAHB250 3645 2677

Motion made by: Miller, Gregory A.

AMD Motion: Adopt

Vote: 11-0 Miller, Gregory A. Yea

Vote Date:4/25/2022 10:09:36 AMAmedée, BerylYeaBoyd, DelishaYea

Echols, Michael Charles Yea Emerson, Julie Yea

Frieman, Lawrence "Larry"

Hodges, Valarie

Johnson, Mike

Yea

McCormick, Danny

Muscarello, Nicholas Yea Seabaugh, Alan Yea

Motion made by: Miller, Gregory A.

Motion: Rule 6.8A Report

 Vote:
 11-0
 Miller, Gregory A.
 Yea

 Vote Date:
 4/25/2022 10:09:53 AM
 Amedée, Beryl
 Yea

 Poud Delicha
 Yea

Boyd, Delisha Yea Echols, Michael Charles Yea

Emerson, Julie Yea
Frieman, Lawrence "Larry" Yea
Hodges, Valarie Yea
Johnson, Mike Yea

McCormick, Danny Yea Muscarello, Nicholas Yea Seabaugh, Alan Yea

Motion made by: Amedée, Beryl

Motion: With Amendments

 Vote:
 12-0
 Miller, Gregory A.
 Yea

 Vote Date:
 4/25/2022 10:10:20 AM
 Amedée, Beryl
 Yea

 Poud Daties
 4/25/2022 10:10:20 AM
 Poud Daties
 Yea

Boyd, Delisha Yea
Echols, Michael Charles Yea
Emerson, Julie Yea
Frieman, Lawrence "Larry" Yea
Garafala, Paymond F

Garofalo, Raymond E.
Hodges, Valarie
Johnson, Mike
McCormick, Danny
Muscarello, Nicholas
Seabaugh, Alan
Yea

HB250 by MAGEE

Final Action: Reported with amendments. (12-0)

HB702 by JORDAN

Provides relative to liability for certain actions by peace officers

Amendment: HCAHB702 4143 2490

Motion made by: Miller, Gregory A.

AMD Motion: Adopt

Vote: 13-0 Miller, Gregory A. Yea Amedée, Beryl Yea Vote Date: 4/25/2022 10:37:59 AM

Boyd, Delisha Yea Carter, Sr., Wilford Yea Echols, Michael Charles Yea

Emerson, Julie Yea Frieman, Lawrence "Larry" Yea Garofalo, Raymond E. Yea Hodges, Valarie Yea Johnson, Mike Yea

McCormick, Danny Muscarello, Nicholas Yea Seabaugh, Alan Yea

Yea

Yea

Amendment: HCAHB702 4143 3034

Motion made by: Miller, Gregory A. **AMD Motion:** Adopt

Vote: 13-0

Amedée, Beryl Yea Vote Date: 4/25/2022 10:40:19 AM Boyd, Delisha Yea

Carter, Sr., Wilford Yea Echols, Michael Charles Yea Emerson, Julie Yea Frieman, Lawrence "Larry" Yea

Miller, Gregory A.

Garofalo, Raymond E. Yea Hodges, Valarie Yea Johnson, Mike Yea McCormick, Danny Yea Muscarello, Nicholas Yea Seabaugh, Alan Yea

Motion made by: Miller, Gregory A. Motion: **Defer Voluntary**

Vote: 14-0 Miller, Gregory A. Yea Amedée, Beryl Vote Date: 4/25/2022 11:37:44 AM

Yea Boyd, Delisha Yea Carter, Sr., Wilford Yea Echols, Michael Charles Yea Emerson, Julie Yea Frieman, Lawrence "Larry" Yea Garofalo, Raymond E. Yea Hodges, Valarie

Yea Johnson, Mike Yea McCormick, Danny Yea Muscarello, Nicholas Yea Nelson, Richard Yea Seabaugh, Alan Yea

Withdrawn No Vote Taken

Motion made by: Garofalo, Raymond E. **Motion: Defer Involuntary**

Vote Date: 4/25/2022 11:37:19 PM

HB702 by JORDAN

Final Action: Defer Voluntary. (14-0)

HB953 by SEABAUGH

Provides relative to the free exercise of religion

Motion made by: Seabaugh, Alan

Motion: Favorably

 Vote:
 11-0-1
 Miller, Gregory A.
 Abstain

 Vote Date:
 4/25/2022 12:14:59 PM
 Amedée, Beryl
 Yea

 Pour Date:
 4/25/2022 12:14:59 PM
 Pour Date:
 Yea

Boyd, Delisha Yea
Carter, Sr., Wilford Yea
Emerson, Julie Yea
Frieman, Lawrence "Larry" Yea
Garofalo, Raymond E. Yea
Hodges, Valarie Yea
Johnson, Mike Yea
McCormick, Danny Yea

Nelson, Richard Yea Seabaugh, Alan Yea

HB953 by SEABAUGH

Final Action: Reported favorably. (11-0-1)