ROLL CALL AND RECORD VOTE

Committee: Civil Law and Procedure

Location: Staff: Room 4 Amy Pirtle, Attorney Allison Shirey, Attorney

Date/Time: 05/31/23 8:00 a.m. Megan Sanders, Committee Administrative

Assistant

Michael McCain, Clerk

Rebecca Marshall, Sergeant at Arms

Roll Call: Convened: 08:37 AM 11 Adjourned: 09:04 AM

Absent

Number of Members: 19

Quorum: 10

Miller, Gregory A. Present Amedée, Beryl Present Boyd, Delisha Present

Carter, Robby Absent Carter, Sr., Wilford Absent Echols, Michael Charles Absent Emerson, Julie Absent

Frieman, Lawrence "Larry" Present

Garofalo, Raymond E. Present Hodges, Valarie

Jefferson, Patrick O. Present Absent

Jenkins, Sam Johnson, Mike Present

Knox, Alonzo L. Present

McCormick, Danny Absent Muscarello, Nicholas Absent

Nelson, Richard Present Seabaugh, Alan Present Schexnayder, Clay Present

HCR121 by GAINES

Directs the La. State Law Institute to study succession proceedings and alternatives for low income families and low value properties

HCAHCR121 4469 3560 **Amendment:**

Motion made by: Miller, Gregory A.

AMD Motion: Adopt 9-0-1 Vote:

Amedée, Beryl Yea Vote Date: 5/31/2023 8:49:02 AM Boyd, Delisha Yea

Frieman, Lawrence "Larry" Yea Garofalo, Raymond E. Yea Jefferson, Patrick O. Yea Johnson, Mike Yea Knox, Alonzo L. Yea Nelson, Richard Yea Seabaugh, Alan Yea

Abstain

Yea

Miller, Gregory A.

Seabaugh, Alan

Motion made by: Miller, Gregory A.

Motion: With Amendments

Vote Date:

Vote: 9-0-1 Miller, Gregory A. Abstain Amedée, Beryl Yea

Boyd, Delisha Yea Frieman, Lawrence "Larry" Yea Garofalo, Raymond E. Yea Jefferson, Patrick O. Yea Johnson, Mike Yea Knox, Alonzo L. Yea Nelson, Richard Yea

HCR121 by GAINES

Final Action: Reported with amendments. (9-0-1)

5/31/2023 8:49:09 AM

HCR126 by STEFANSKI

Expresses intent of the legislature regarding House Bill No. 586 of the 2023 R.S.

Amendment: HCAHCR126 447 3790

Motion made by: Miller, Gregory A.

AMD Motion: Adopt

Vote:9-0-1Miller, Gregory A.AbstainAmedée, BerylYea

Vote Date:5/31/2023 8:41:54 AMAmedée, Beryl
Boyd, DelishaYea

Frieman, Lawrence "Larry"

Garofalo, Raymond E.

Johnson, Mike

Knox, Alonzo L.

Nelson, Richard

Seabaugh, Alan

Yea

Schexnayder, Clay

Yea

Yea

Motion made by: Garofalo, Raymond E.

Motion: With Amendments

Vote:9-0-1Miller, Gregory A.AbstainNata Pata:5/04/2003 0:45:34 AMAmedée, BerylYea

Boyd, Delisha Yea
Frieman, Lawrence "Larry" Yea
Garofalo, Raymond E. Yea
Johnson, Mike Yea
Knox, Alonzo L. Yea
Nelson, Richard Yea

Seabaugh, Alan Yea Schexnayder, Clay Yea

HCR126 by STEFANSKI

Vote Date:

Final Action: Reported with amendments. (9-0-1)

5/31/2023 8:45:34 AM

SB127 by DUPLESSIS

Vote Date:

Vote Date:

Constitutional amendment to authorize the local governing authority of each parish to provide a limited ad valorem tax exemption for qualified first responders. (2/3 - CA13s1(A))

Motion made by: Miller, Gregory A.

Motion: Adopt Rule 6.8A Report

5/31/2023 9:03:00 AM

5/31/2023 9:03:42 AM

Vote: 9-0-1 Miller, Gregory A. Abstain

Amedée, Beryl Yea
Boyd, Delisha Yea
Frieman, Lawrence "Larry" Yea
Garofalo, Raymond E. Yea
Jefferson, Patrick O. Yea
Johnson, Mike Yea
Knox, Alonzo L. Yea

Nelson, Richard Yea Seabaugh, Alan Yea

Motion made by: Knox, Alonzo L.

Motion: Without Amendments

Vote: 9-0-1 Miller, Gregory A. Abstain
Amedée, Beryl Yea

Boyd, Delisha Yea
Frieman, Lawrence "Larry" Yea
Garofalo, Raymond E. Yea
Jefferson, Patrick O. Yea
Johnson, Mike Yea
Knox, Alonzo L. Yea
Nelson, Richard Yea

Yea

Nelson, Richard Seabaugh, Alan

SB127 by DUPLESSIS

Final Action: Reported without amendments. (9-0-1)