ROLL CALL AND RECORD VOTE

Committee: Civil Law and Procedure

Location: Room 1 Staff: Annie Smith, Attorney Amy Pirtle, Attorney

Date/Time: 06/09/20 9:00 a.m. Diane Merritt, Committee Administrative

Assistant

Maddie Murphy, Clerk

Myrtis Jarrell, Sergeant at Arms

 Roll Call:
 14
 Convened:
 09:09 AM

 Number of Members:
 18
 At Ease:
 12:02 PM

 Convened:
 12:03 PM

 Quorum:
 10
 Adjourned:
 12:22 PM

Miller, Gregory A. Present Amedée, Beryl Present

Carter, Robby Absent

Carter, Sr., Wilford Present
DeVillier, Phillip Present
Echols, Michael Charles Present

Emerson, Julie Absent

Frieman, Lawrence "Larry" Present

Glover, Cedric Absent Hodges, Valarie Absent

Jefferson, Patrick O. Present Jenkins, Sam Present Johnson, Mike Present Landry, Mandie Present Muscarello, Nicholas Present Nelson, Richard Present Pressly, Thomas A. Present Seabaugh, Alan Present

HCR4 by SEABAUGH

Suspends provisions of law relative to recoverable medical expenses (Item #40)

Motion made by: Johnson, Mike

Motion: Favorably

Vote:11-0-1Miller, Gregory A.AbstainVote Date:6/9/2020 9:24:22 AMAmedée, Beryl
Carter, Sr., Wilford
Frieman Lawrence "Larry"Yea

Frieman, Lawrence "Larry" Yea Jefferson, Patrick O. Yea Jenkins, Sam Yea Johnson, Mike Yea Landry, Mandie Yea Muscarello, Nicholas Yea Nelson, Richard Yea Pressly, Thomas A. Yea Seabaugh, Alan Yea

HCR4 by SEABAUGH

Final Action: Reported favorably. (11-0-1)

HB5 by MARINO

Provides for the emergency suspension of time limitations in certain civil proceedings (Item #40)

Motion made by: Jenkins, Sam

Motion: Favorably Vote: 11-0-1

Vote Date:6/9/2020 9:14:18 AMAmedée, Beryl
Carter, Sr., WilfordYea

Frieman, Lawrence "Larry" Yea Jefferson, Patrick O. Yea Jenkins, Sam Yea Johnson, Mike Yea Landry, Mandie Yea Muscarello, Nicholas Yea Nelson, Richard Yea Pressly, Thomas A. Yea Seabaugh, Alan Yea

Abstain

Miller, Gregory A.

HB5 by MARINO

Final Action: Reported favorably. (11-0-1)

HB42 by	GREGORY	MILLER
---------	----------------	---------------

Enacts the Omnibus Premium Reduction Act of 2020 (Item #40)

Amendment: HCAHB42 3645 144 Motion made by: Miller, Gregory A.

AMD Motion: Adopt

Vote: 11-0-1 Miller, Gregory A. Abstain Amedée, Beryl Yea Vote Date: 6/9/2020 9:35:32 AM Carter, Sr., Wilford Yea

Frieman, Lawrence "Larry" Yea Jefferson, Patrick O. Yea Jenkins, Sam Yea Johnson, Mike Yea Landry, Mandie Yea Muscarello, Nicholas Yea Nelson, Richard Yea Pressly, Thomas A. Yea Seabaugh, Alan Yea

Amendment: HCAHB42 3645 150 Motion made by: Miller, Gregory A.

6/9/2020 9:32:32 AM

AMD Motion: Adopt

Vote Date:

Vote: 11-0-1 Miller, Gregory A. Abstain Amedée, Beryl Yea

Carter, Sr., Wilford Yea Frieman, Lawrence "Larry" Yea Jefferson, Patrick O. Yea Jenkins, Sam Yea Johnson, Mike Yea Landry, Mandie Yea

> Muscarello, Nicholas Yea Nelson, Richard Yea Pressly, Thomas A. Yea Seabaugh, Alan Yea

Amendment: HCAHB42 3645 179 Motion made by: Miller, Gregory A.

AMD Motion: Adopt

11-0-1 Vote: Miller, Gregory A. Abstain Amedée, Beryl Yea **Vote Date:** 6/9/2020 9:34:06 AM

Carter, Sr., Wilford Yea Frieman, Lawrence "Larry" Yea Jefferson, Patrick O. Yea Jenkins, Sam Yea Johnson, Mike Yea Landry, Mandie Yea Muscarello, Nicholas Yea Nelson, Richard Yea Pressly, Thomas A. Yea Seabaugh, Alan Yea

Motion made by: Frieman, Lawrence "Larry"

6/9/2020 10:38:51 AM

Motion: With Amendments

Vote Date:

Vote: Miller, Gregory A. Abstain Amedée, Beryl Yea

Carter, Sr., Wilford Yea DeVillier, Phillip Yea Echols, Michael Charles Yea Frieman, Lawrence "Larry" Yea Jefferson, Patrick O. Yea Jenkins, Sam Yea Johnson, Mike Yea Yea

Yea

Landry, Mandie Nelson, Richard

HB42 by GREGORY MILLER

Final Action: Reported with amendments. (10-0-1)

HB43 by GAROFALO

Makes revisions to the Omnibus Premium Reduction Act of 2020 (Item #40)

Amendment: HCAHB43 3645 178

Motion made by: Miller, Gregory A.

AMD Motion: Adopt

Vote:11-0-1Miller, Gregory A.AbstainVote Date:6/9/2020 10:40:44 AMAmedée, BerylYea

Carter, Sr., Wilford Yea DeVillier, Phillip Yea Echols, Michael Charles Yea Frieman, Lawrence "Larry" Yea Jefferson, Patrick O. Yea Jenkins, Sam Yea Johnson, Mike Yea Landry, Mandie Yea Nelson, Richard Yea Pressly, Thomas A. Yea

Motion made by: Miller, Gregory A.

Motion: With Amendments

Vote:9-4-1Miller, Gregory A.AbstainVote Date:6/9/2020 11:53:43 AMAmedée, BerylYea

Objection by: Jenkins, Sam Carter, Sr., Wilford Nay

Objection by: Jenkins, Sam DeVillier, Phillip Yea

Echols, Michael Charles Yea Frieman, Lawrence "Larry" Yea Jefferson, Patrick O. Nay Jenkins, Sam Nay Johnson, Mike Yea Landry, Mandie Nay Muscarello, Nicholas Yea Nelson, Richard Yea Pressly, Thomas A. Yea Seabaugh, Alan Yea

HB43 by GAROFALO

Final Action: Reported with amendments. (9-4-1)

HB44 by GAROFALO

Enacts the Omnibus Premium Reduction Act of 2020 (Item #40)

Amendment: HCAHB44 3645 177 **Motion made by:** Miller, Gregory A.

AMD Motion: Adopt
Vote: 13-0-1

Vote Date:6/9/2020 11:54:52 AMAmedée, Beryl Carter, Sr., WilfordYea

DeVillier, Phillip Yea Echols, Michael Charles Yea Frieman, Lawrence "Larry" Yea Jefferson, Patrick O. Yea Yea Jenkins, Sam Johnson, Mike Yea Landry, Mandie Yea Muscarello, Nicholas Yea Nelson, Richard Yea Pressly, Thomas A. Yea

Abstain

Yea

Miller, Gregory A.

Seabaugh, Alan

HB44 by GAROFALO

Enacts the Omnibus Premium Reduction Act of 2020 (Item #40)

Motion made by: Echols, Michael Charles

Motion: With Amendments

Objection by:Jenkins, SamDeVillier, PhillipYeaEchols, Michael CharlesYea

Yea Frieman, Lawrence "Larry" Yea Jefferson, Patrick O. Nay Jenkins, Sam Nay Johnson, Mike Yea Landry, Mandie Nay Muscarello, Nicholas Yea Nelson, Richard Yea Pressly, Thomas A. Yea Seabaugh, Alan Yea

HB44 by GAROFALO

Final Action: Reported with amendments. (9-4-1)

HB57 by SCHEXNAYDER

Enacts the Civil Justice Reform Act of 2020 (Item #40)

Amendment: HCAHB57 3645 174

Motion made by: Miller, Gregory A.

AMD Motion: Adopt
Vote: 10-0-1

Vote Date:6/9/2020 12:07:44 PMAmedée, Beryl
Carter, Sr., Wilford
Fabrica Mishael CharlesYea

Echols, Michael Charles Yea Frieman, Lawrence "Larry" Yea Jenkins, Sam Yea Johnson, Mike Yea Landry, Mandie Yea Muscarello, Nicholas Yea Yea Nelson, Richard Pressly, Thomas A. Yea

Abstain

Miller, Gregory A.

Motion made by: Echols, Michael Charles

Motion: With Amendments

Vote:10-0-1Miller, Gregory A.AbstainMarch 1Amedée, BerylYea

Carter, Sr., Wilford Yea Echols, Michael Charles Yea Frieman, Lawrence "Larry" Yea Jenkins, Sam Yea Johnson, Mike Yea Landry, Mandie Yea Muscarello, Nicholas Yea Nelson, Richard Yea Pressly, Thomas A. Yea

HB57 by SCHEXNAYDER

Vote Date:

Final Action: Reported with amendments. (10-0-1)

6/9/2020 12:22:00 PM