# **ROLL CALL AND RECORD VOTE**

**Committee:** Education Location: Room 1 Date/Time: 04/09/24 9:00 a.m.

**Roll Call:** 

Staff:	Elizabeth L. Borne, Legislative Analyst Lisa Lovello, Legislative Analyst Alexandra Cravins, Committee Administrative Assistant Myrtis Jarrell, Sergeant at Arms
	Lauren Breen, Clerk

Convened:	09:03 AM
Adjourned:	01:30 PM

Yea

Yea

Yea

Yea

Number of Members:	14
Quorum:	8
Schlegel, Laurie Amedée, Beryl Brass, Ken Carlson, Josh Carpenter, Barbara Carver, Kim Edmonston, Kathy Freiberg, Barbara Reich Melerine, Michael Owen, Charles St. Blanc, III, Vincent "Vin Tarver, Phillip Eric Taylor, Sylvia Elaine Young, Rashid Armand	Present Present Present Present Present Present Present Present Present Present Present Present Present Present Present Present Present

14

### HB5 by CHARLES OWEN

Provides relative to types of payment accepted at public events at public postsecondary education institutions

Motion made by:	Tarver, Phillip Eric		
Motion:	Favorably		
Vote: Vote Date:	11-2 4/9/2024 10:33:38 AM	Schlegel, Laurie Amedée, Beryl Brass, Ken	Yea Yea Yea
Objection by:	Freiberg, Barbara Reich	Carlson, Josh Carpenter, Barbara Carver, Kim Edmonston, Kathy Freiberg, Barbara Reich Melerine, Michael	Yea Yea Nay Yea Nay Yea

#### **HB5 by CHARLES OWEN**

Final Action: Reported favorably. (11-2)

### HB68 by GLORIOSO

Lowers the ACT score required for initial qualification for a Taylor Opportunity Program for Students award for students who complete approved home study programs

Owen, Charles

Tarver, Phillip Eric

Taylor, Sylvia Elaine

Young, Rashid Armand

Motion made by	r: Tarver, Phillip Eric		
Motion:	Favorably		
Vote:	12-0	Schlegel, Laurie	Yea
Vote Date:	4/9/2024 10:11:07 AM	Amedĕe, Beryl Brass, Ken Carlson, Josh Carpenter, Barbara Carver, Kim Freiberg, Barbara Reich	Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea
		Melerine, Michael Owen, Charles Tarver, Phillip Eric Taylor, Sylvia Elaine Young, Rashid Armand	Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea

# HB68 by GLORIOSO

Final Action: Reported favorably. (12-0)

#### HB174 by MCMAKIN

Provides relative to disciplinary proceedings for students and student organizations at public postsecondary education institutions

Amendment:	HCAHB174 224 2519		
Motion made by:	Schlegel, Laurie		
AMD Motion:	Adopt		
Vote: Vote Date:	13-0 4/9/2024 10:39:00 AM	Schlegel, Laurie Amedée, Beryl Brass, Ken Carlson, Josh Carpenter, Barbara Carver, Kim Edmonston, Kathy Freiberg, Barbara Reich Melerine, Michael Owen, Charles Tarver, Phillip Eric Taylor, Sylvia Elaine Young, Rashid Armand	Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea
Motion made by: Motion:	Freiberg, Barbara Reich With Amendments		
		Soblegel Lourie	Vac
Vote: Vote Date:	13-0 4/9/2024 10:39:38 AM	Schlegel, Laurie Amedée, Beryl Brass, Ken Carlson, Josh Carpenter, Barbara Carver, Kim Edmonston, Kathy Freiberg, Barbara Reich Melerine, Michael Owen, Charles Tarver, Phillip Eric Taylor, Sylvia Elaine Young, Rashid Armand	Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea

### HB174 by MCMAKIN

Final Action: Reported with amendments. (13-0)

## HB266 by AMEDEE

Provides relative to core curriculum requirements for initial eligibility for a Taylor Opportunity Program for Students award

Motion made by:	Amedée, Beryl		
Motion:	Favorably		
Vote:	7-6	Schlegel, Laurie	Yea
Vote Date:	4/9/2024 10:57:48 AM	Amedée, Beryl Carlson, Josh	Yea Nay
Objection by:	Carlson, Josh	Carpenter, Barbara Carver, Kim Edmonston, Kathy Freiberg, Barbara Reich Melerine, Michael Owen, Charles St. Blanc, III, Vincent "Vinney" Tarver, Phillip Eric Taylor, Sylvia Elaine	Nay Nay Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Nay
		Young, Rashid Armand	Nay

#### HB452 by ST. BLANC

Provides for the termination of the TOPS-Tech Award beginning with the 2029-2030 award year

Motion made by:	Brass, Ken		
Motion:	Favorably		
Vote: Vote Date:	/ote Date: 4/9/2024 9:35:30 AM Amedée, Beryl Brass, Ken Carlson, Josh Carver, Kim Edmonston, Ka	Carlson, Josh	Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea
		Melerine, Michael Owen, Charles St. Blanc, III, Vincent "Vinney" Tarver, Phillip Eric Taylor, Sylvia Elaine Young, Rashid Armand	Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea

# HB452 by ST. BLANC

Final Action: Reported favorably. (13-0)

#### HB548 by AMEDEE

Subjects students who complete approved home study programs and satisfy certain academic requirements to the same ACT requirements as graduates of public and approved nonpublic high schools for qualification for a Taylor Opportunity Program for Students award

Motion made by: Freiberg, Barbara Reich

Motion:	Favorably		
Vote:	13-0	Schlegel, Laurie	Yea
Vote Date:	4/9/2024 11:05:39 AM	Amedée, Beryl Brass, Ken Carlson, Josh Carpenter, Barbara Carver, Kim Edmonston, Kathy Freiberg, Barbara Reich Melerine, Michael	Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea
		Owen, Charles St. Blanc, III, Vincent "Vinney" Taylor, Sylvia Elaine Young, Rashid Armand	Yea Yea Yea Yea

# HB548 by AMEDEE

Final Action: Reported favorably. (13-0)

### HB606 by JORDAN

Requires the Southern University Board of Supervisors to establish a program for midwives and a program for doulas within the Southern University School of Nursing, subject to Board of Regents approval

Motion made by:	Brass, Ken		
Motion:	Favorably		
Vote:	12-0	Schlegel, Laurie	Yea
Vote Date:	4/9/2024 10:13:27 AM	Amedée, Beryl Brass, Ken Carlson, Josh Carpenter, Barbara Carver, Kim Freiberg, Barbara Reich Melerine, Michael Owen, Charles Tarver, Phillip Eric Taylor, Sylvia Elaine	Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea
		Young, Rashid Armand	Yea

# HB606 by JORDAN

Final Action: Reported favorably. (12-0)

## HB931 by CHASSION

Provides for awarding high school diplomas in certain circumstances

Motion made by:	Edmonston, Kathy		
Motion:	Favorably		
Vote: Vote Date: Objection by:	5-9 4/9/2024 1:25:35 PM Carlson, Josh	Schlegel, Laurie Amedée, Beryl Brass, Ken Carlson, Josh Carpenter, Barbara Carver, Kim Edmonston, Kathy Freiberg, Barbara Reich Melerine, Michael Owen, Charles St. Blanc, III, Vincent "Vinney" Tarver, Phillip Eric	Nay Nay Yea Nay Yea Nay Nay Nay Nay Nay
		Taylor, Sylvia Elaine Young, Rashid Armand	Yea Yea

# HB931 by CHASSION

Motion made by:			
Motion:	Adjourn		
Vote:	14-0	Schlegel, Laurie	Yea
Vote Date:	4/9/2024 1:30:41 PM	Amedée, Beryl Brass, Ken Carlson, Josh Carpenter, Barbara Carver, Kim Edmonston, Kathy Freiberg, Barbara Reich Melerine, Michael Owen, Charles St. Blanc, III, Vincent "Vinney" Tarver, Phillip Eric Taylor, Sylvia Elaine Young, Rashid Armand	Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea