## **ROLL CALL AND RECORD VOTE**

Committee: House and Governmental Affairs

**Location:** Room 5 **Staff:** Patricia Lowrey-Dufour, Legislative Analyst

Date/Time: 01/16/24 10:00 a.m.

Annie Smith, Attorney

Sarah Baker, Committee Administrative

Assistant

Myrtis Jarrell, Sergeant at Arms

Roll Call: 16 Convened: 10:03 AM Adjourned: 01:43 PM

Number of Members: 17
Quorum: 7

Beaullieu, IV, Gerald "Beau" Present Billings, Beth Anne Present

Boyd, Delisha Absent

Carlson, Josh Present Carter, Sr., Wilford Present Carver, Christopher Kim Present Farnum, Les Present Gadberry, Foy Bryan Present Johnson, Mike Present Larvadain, III, Ed Present Lyons, Rodney Present Marcelle, C. Denise Present Newell, Candace N. Present Schamerhorn, Rodney Present Thomas, Polly Present Wright, Mark Present Wyble, John E. Present

## **HB6 by MANDIE LANDRY**

Provides for the nature of elections for judicial offices (Items #7 and #10)

Motion made by: Newell, Candace N.

4-11

**Motion:** Favorably

Vote:

Vote Date:1/16/2024 1:09:41 PMBillings, Beth Anne<br/>Carlson, JoshNay<br/>NayObjection by:Carlson, JoshVea

Objection by:Carlson, JoshCarter, Sr., WilfordYeaCarver, Christopher KimNay

Farnum, Les Nay Nay Gadberry, Foy Bryan Johnson, Mike Nay Larvadain, III, Ed Yea Lyons, Rodney Yea Newell, Candace N. Yea Schamerhorn, Rodney Nay Thomas, Polly Nay Nay Wright, Mark

Nay

Nay

Beaullieu, IV, Gerald "Beau"

Wyble, John E.

# **HB6 by MANDIE LANDRY**

## **HB8 by MIKE JOHNSON**

Provides for the districts for election of the justices of the Supreme Court (Item #3)

Motion made by: Johnson, Mike

**Motion:** Favorably

Vote:13-0Beaullieu, IV, Gerald "Beau"YeaVote Date:1/16/2024 10:21:38 AMBillings, Beth Anne Carlson, JoshYea

Carver, Christopher Kim
Farnum, Les
Gadberry, Foy Bryan
Johnson, Mike
Larvadain, III, Ed
Lyons, Rodney
Marcelle, C. Denise
Yea

Newell, Candace N. Yea Schamerhorn, Rodney Yea Wyble, John E. Yea

## **HB8 by MIKE JOHNSON**

Final Action: Reported favorably. (13-0)

### **HB17 by EMERSON**

Provides for closed party primary elections for certain offices (Items #7, #8, and #10)

Amendment: HCAHB17 362 41

Motion made by: Beaullieu, IV, Gerald "Beau"

**AMD Motion:** Adopt

Vote: Beaullieu, IV, Gerald "Beau" 12-0 Yea Billings, Beth Anne Yea

**Vote Date:** 1/16/2024 10:33:36 AM Carlson, Josh Yea

Carver, Christopher Kim Yea Farnum, Les Yea Gadberry, Foy Bryan Yea Lyons, Rodney Yea Marcelle, C. Denise Yea Newell, Candace N. Yea

Schamerhorn, Rodney Thomas, Polly Yea Wyble, John E. Yea

Yea

Amendment: HCAHB17 362 45 Motion made by: Newell, Candace N.

**AMD Motion:** Adopt

4-11 Vote: Beaullieu, IV, Gerald "Beau" Nay Billings, Beth Anne Nay Vote Date: 1/16/2024 12:48:01 PM

Carlson, Josh Nay Carter, Sr., Wilford Yea Objection by: Wright, Mark

Carver, Christopher Kim Nay Nay Farnum, Les Gadberry, Foy Bryan Nay Johnson, Mike Nay Larvadain, III, Ed Yea Lyons, Rodney Yea Newell, Candace N. Yea

Schamerhorn, Rodney Nay Thomas, Polly Nay Wright, Mark Nay Wyble, John E. Nay

Motion made by: Wyble, John E.

Motion: With Amendments

Vote: 11-4 Beaullieu, IV, Gerald "Beau" Yea Billings, Beth Anne Yea Vote Date: 1/16/2024 12:51:51 PM Carlson, Josh Yea

Carter, Sr., Wilford Nay Objection by: Newell, Candace N.

Carver, Christopher Kim Yea Farnum, Les Yea Gadberry, Foy Bryan Yea Johnson, Mike Yea Larvadain, III, Ed Nay Lyons, Rodney Nay Newell, Candace N. Nay Schamerhorn, Rodney Yea

Thomas, Polly Yea Wright, Mark Yea Wyble, John E. Yea

## **HB17 by EMERSON**

Final Action: Reported with amendments. (11-4)

Motion made by: Thomas, Polly

**Motion:** Adjourn

Vote:14-0Beaullieu, IV, Gerald "Beau"YeaVote Date:1/16/2024 1:43:45 PMBillings, Beth AnneYea

ote Date: 1/16/2024 1:43:45 PM Carlson, Josh Yea Carter, Sr., Wilford Yea

Carver, Christopher Kim
Yea
Farnum, Les
Yea
Gadberry, Foy Bryan
Yea
Johnson, Mike
Yea
Larvadain, III, Ed
Yea
Lyons, Rodney
Newell, Candace N.
Yea

Newell, Candace N. Yea Schamerhorn, Rodney Yea Thomas, Polly Yea Wyble, John E. Yea