ROLL CALL AND RECORD VOTE

Committee: House and Governmental Affairs

Location: Room 3 **Staff:** Patricia Lowrey-Dufour, Legislative Analyst

Date/Time: 05/24/23 9:00 a.m.

Annie Smith, Attorney

Rosalie Ammersbach, Committee Administrative

Assistant

Alex Stefanski, Clerk

Vivian Hurst, Sergeant at Arms

Roll Call: 14 Convened: 09:10 AM Adjourned: 10:25 AM

Number of Members: 16

Quorum: 9

Stefanski, John M. Present Beaullieu, IV, Gerald "Beau" Present

Carter, Sr., Wilford Absent

Deshotel, Daryl Andrew Present Farnum, Les Present Gadberry, Foy Bryan Present Ivey, Barry Present Jenkins, Sam Present Johnson, Mike Present LaCombe, Jeremy Present

Lyons, Rodney Absent

Magee, Tanner Present
Nelson, Richard Present
Newell, Candace N. Present
Thomas, Polly Present
White, Malinda Present

SB84 by LUNEAU

Requires the La. Board of Ethics to send certain communications electronically. (8/1/23)

Amendment: HCASB84 362 3488

Motion made by: Beaullieu, IV, Gerald "Beau"

AMD Motion: Adopt

Vote:9-0-1Stefanski, John M.AbstainVote Date:5/24/2023 10:24:55 AMBeaullieu, IV, Gerald "Beau"
Gadberry, Foy BryanYea
Yea

Vea Jenkins, Sam Yea Jenkins, Sam Yea Jenkins, Sam Yea Jenkins, Jeremy Yea Newell, Candace N. Yea Thomas, Polly Yea White, Malinda Yea

Motion made by: Newell, Candace N.

Motion: With Amendments

Vote:9-0-1Stefanski, John M.AbstainVote:5/24/2023 40:25:44 AMBeaullieu, IV, Gerald "Beau"Yea

Gadberry, Foy Bryan Yea Ivey, Barry Yea Jenkins, Sam Yea Johnson, Mike Yea LaCombe, Jeremy Yea Newell, Candace N. Yea Thomas, Polly Yea White, Malinda Yea

SB84 by LUNEAU

Vote Date:

Final Action: Reported with amendments. (9-0-1)

5/24/2023 10:25:14 AM

SB129 by CLOUD

Requires certain state entities to report corrective actions taken to mitigate state risk exposure upon request of the litigation subcommittee of the Joint Legislative Committee on the Budget. (8/1/23)

Amendment: HCASB129 362 3476

Motion made by: Magee, Tanner

AMD Motion: Adopt
Vote: 10-0-1

Vote:10-0-1Stefanski, John M.AbstainVote Date:5/24/2023 10:07:54 AMDeshotel, Daryl AndrewYea

Farnum, Les Yea
Gadberry, Foy Bryan Yea
Ivey, Barry Yea
Johnson, Mike Yea
LaCombe, Jeremy Yea
Magee, Tanner Yea
Newell, Candace N. Yea

Thomas, Polly Yea
White, Malinda Yea

Motion made by: Magee, Tanner

Motion: With Amendments

Vote:10-0-1Stefanski, John M.Abstain

Deshotel, Daryl Andrew Yea Farnum, Les Yea Gadberry, Foy Bryan Yea Ivey, Barry Yea

Johnson, Mike Yea
LaCombe, Jeremy Yea
Magee, Tanner Yea
Newell, Candace N. Yea
Thomas, Polly Yea
White, Malinda Yea

SB129 by CLOUD

Vote Date:

Final Action: Reported with amendments. (10-0-1)

SB152 by MILLIGAN

Creates the Louisiana Cybersecurity Commission. (8/1/23)

5/24/2023 10:08:07 AM

Motion made by: Newell, Candace N.

Motion: Favorably

Vote:10-0-1Stefanski, John M.AbstainVote Date:5/24/2023 9:20:54 AMBeaullieu, IV, Gerald "Beau"Yea

Deshotel, Daryl Andrew Yea Farnum, Les Yea Gadberry, Foy Bryan Yea Johnson, Mike Yea LaCombe, Jeremy Yea Nelson, Richard Yea Newell, Candace N. Yea Thomas, Polly Yea White, Malinda Yea

SB152 by MILLIGAN

Final Action: Reported favorably. (10-0-1)

SB186 by PEACOCK

Provides relative to the Occupational Therapy Licensure Compact. (1/1/24)

Motion made by: Beaullieu, IV, Gerald "Beau"

Motion: Favorably

Vote:9-0-1Stefanski, John M.AbstainVote Date:5/24/2023 9:24:58 AMBeaullieu, IV, Gerald "Beau"YeaFarnum, LesYea

Gadberry, Foy Bryan
Johnson, Mike
LaCombe, Jeremy
Nelson, Richard
Newell, Candace N.
Thomas, Polly
White, Malinda
Yea

SB186 by PEACOCK

Final Action: Reported favorably. (9-0-1)

SCR7 by TALBOT

Urges the commissioner of insurance to create the Hurricane Mitigation Commission to study and report findings and recommendations relative to the handling of property insurance claims in the wake of hurricanes and the necessity of a catastrophe savings account.

Motion made by: Beaullieu, IV, Gerald "Beau"

Motion: Favorably

Vote:10-0-1Stefanski, John M.AbstainVote Date:5/24/2023 10:23:21 AMBeaullieu, IV, Gerald "Beau"YeaFarnum LesYea

Farnum, Les Yea Gadberry, Foy Bryan Yea Ivey, Barry Yea Jenkins, Sam Yea Johnson, Mike Yea LaCombe, Jeremy Yea Newell, Candace N. Yea Thomas, Polly Yea White, Malinda Yea

SCR7 by TALBOT

Final Action: Reported favorably. (10-0-1)

SCR8 by KLEINPETER

Creates the Task Force on Safety for Law Enforcement Officers Involved in High Speed Vehicle Pursuits to study and review police officer training and protocols necessary to increase the safety of law enforcement officers and innocent bystanders.

Motion made by: Magee, Tanner

Motion: Favorably

Vote:10-0-1Stefanski, John M.AbstainVote Date:5/24/2023 10:13:16 AMBeaullieu, IV, Gerald "Beau"Yea

Farnum, Les Yea Gadberry, Foy Bryan Yea Ivey, Barry Yea Johnson, Mike Yea LaCombe, Jeremy Yea Magee, Tanner Yea Newell, Candace N. Yea Thomas, Polly Yea White, Malinda Yea

SCR8 by KLEINPETER

Final Action: Reported favorably. (10-0-1)

SCR19 by TALBOT

Creates the Task Force on Available and Affordable Commercial Motor Vehicle Insurance.

Amendment: M. Johnson Amendment In-Concept

Motion made by: Johnson, Mike

AMD Motion: Adopt Vote: 10-0-1

Vote:10-0-1Stefanski, John M.AbstainVote Date:5/24/2023 10:18:38 AMBeaullieu, IV, Gerald "Beau"Yea

Farnum, Les Yea
Gadberry, Foy Bryan Yea
Ivey Barry Yea

Ivey, Barry
Johnson, Mike
LaCombe, Jeremy
Magee, Tanner
Newell, Candace N.
Thomas, Polly
White, Malinda
Yea

Motion made by: Magee, Tanner

Motion: With Amendments

Vote:11-0-1Stefanski, John M.AbstainVote Date:5/24/2023 10:21:11 AMBeaullieu, IV, Gerald "Beau"Yea

Farnum, Les Yea Gadberry, Foy Bryan Yea

Ivey, Barry Yea Jenkins, Sam Yea Johnson, Mike Yea LaCombe, Jeremy Yea Magee, Tanner Yea Newell, Candace N. Yea Thomas, Polly Yea White, Malinda Yea

SCR19 by TALBOT

Final Action: Reported with amendments. (11-0-1)

SCR20 by GARY CARTER

Requests the Louisiana Department of Health to convene a task force to make recommendations regarding nursing involvement to improve maternal outcomes.

Motion made by: Newell, Candace N.

Motion: Favorably

Vote Date:

Vote:11-0-1Stefanski, John M.Abstain

5/24/2023 10:05:59 AM

Beaullieu, IV, Gerald "Beau"

Yea

Deshotel, Daryl Andrew

Yea

Farnum, Les

Gadberry, Foy Bryan

Yea

Johnson, Mike Yea
LaCombe, Jeremy Yea
Magee, Tanner Yea
Newell, Candace N. Yea
White, Malinda Yea

SCR20 by GARY CARTER

Final Action: Reported favorably. (11-0-1)

SCR38 by ROBERT MILLS

Recognizes the North Louisiana Legislative Delegation of the legislature.

Motion made by: Magee, Tanner

Motion: Favorably

Vote: 10-0-1 Stefanski, John M. Abstain Beaullieu, IV, Gerald "Beau" Yea

Vote Date: 5/24/2023 10:15:39 AM Farnum, Les Yea

Gadberry, Foy Bryan Yea Ivey, Barry Yea Johnson, Mike Yea LaCombe, Jeremy Yea Magee, Tanner Newell, Candace N. Yea Yea

Thomas, Polly Yea White, Malinda Yea

SCR38 by ROBERT MILLS

Final Action: Reported favorably. (10-0-1)

5/24/2023 10:25:26 AM

Motion made by: Newell, Candace N.

Motion: Adjourn

Vote Date:

Vote: 9-0-1 Stefanski, John M. Abstain Beaullieu, IV, Gerald "Beau" Yea

Gadberry, Foy Bryan Yea Ivey, Barry Yea Jenkins, Sam Yea Johnson, Mike Yea LaCombe, Jeremy Yea

Newell, Candace N. Yea Thomas, Polly Yea White, Malinda Yea