ROLL CALL AND RECORD VOTE

Committee: Municipal, Parochial and Cultural Affairs

Location: Room 6 **Staff:** Tina Righteous, Attorney Valarie Banks, Secretary

Date/Time: 05/22/19 9:00 a.m.

David Gauthier, Legislative Analyst

Lisa Lovello, Legislative Analyst

Tyler Broussard, Clerk

Janet Anthony, Sergeant at Arms Angela McKnight, Sergeant at Arms

Roll Call: 16 Convened: 09:00 AM Adjourned: 11:11 AM

Absent

Number of Members: 19

Quorum: 10

Berthelot, John A. Present Billiot, Robert E. Present Bouie, Joseph

Davis, Paula Present
DuBuisson, Mary Present
Dubuisht Stocker

Dwight, Stephen Present
Edmonds, Rick Present

Glover, Cedric Absent

Hilferty, Stephanie Present Huval, Mike Present Jenkins, Sam Present Lyons, Rodney Present Marcelle, C. Denise Present Norton, Barbara M. Present Pugh, Stephen E. Present Smith, Patricia Haynes Present Stagni, Joseph A. Present

White, Malinda Absent

Wright, Mark Present

HR173 by J.HARRIS

Requests the New Orleans City Council to expand the authority of the city's code enforcement department and its employees

Motion made by: Marcelle, C. Denise

Motion: Favorably

Vote:12-0Berthelot, John A.YeaVote Date:5/22/2019 9:09:28 AMDavis, PaulaYea

DuBuisson, Mary Yea Dwight, Stephen Yea Edmonds, Rick Yea Huval, Mike Yea Jenkins, Sam Yea Marcelle, C. Denise Yea Norton, Barbara M. Yea Pugh, Stephen E. Yea Smith, Patricia Haynes Yea Wright, Mark Yea

HR173 by J.HARRIS

Final Action: Reported favorably. (12-0)

SB67 by MORRELL

Creates the Mid City Economic Development District in Orleans Parish. (gov sig)

Motion made by: Norton, Barbara M.

Motion: Favorably

Vote: 12-0 Berthelot, John A. Yea Davis, Paula Yea **Vote Date:** 5/22/2019 9:07:45 AM DuBuisson, Mary Yea

Dwight, Stephen Yea Edmonds, Rick Yea Huval, Mike Yea Jenkins, Sam Yea Marcelle, C. Denise Yea Norton, Barbara M. Yea Pugh, Stephen E. Yea Smith, Patricia Haynes Yea

Wright, Mark Yea

SB67 by MORRELL

Final Action: Reported favorably. (12-0)

SB129 by COLOMB

Requires a local municipal or parish authority to allow certain pedestrians to stand in a roadway to solicit charitable contributions under certain circumstances. (8/1/19)

Motion made by: Marcelle, C. Denise

Motion: Favorably

Vote: 11-0 Berthelot, John A. Yea DuBuisson, Mary Yea Vote Date: 5/22/2019 9:39:25 AM Edmonds, Rick

Yea Huval, Mike Yea Jenkins, Sam Yea Lyons, Rodney Yea Marcelle, C. Denise Yea Norton, Barbara M. Yea Pugh, Stephen E. Yea Smith, Patricia Haynes Yea Stagni, Joseph A. Yea

SB129 by COLOMB

Final Action: Reported favorably. (11-0)

SB161 by LAFLEUR

Provides relative to the Lafayette Economic Development Authority. (see Act)

Motion made by: Norton, Barbara M.

Motion: Favorably

Vote: 11-0 Berthelot, John A. Yea DuBuisson, Mary Yea **Vote Date:** 5/22/2019 9:17:06 AM Dwight, Stephen Yea

Edmonds, Rick Yea Huval, Mike Yea Jenkins, Sam Yea Marcelle, C. Denise Yea Norton, Barbara M. Yea Smith, Patricia Haynes Yea Stagni, Joseph A. Yea Wright, Mark Yea

SB161 by LAFLEUR

Final Action: Reported favorably. (11-0)

SB168 by LAFLEUR

Provides for the appointment of the chief of police for the town of Basile. (8/1/19)

Withdrawn No Vote Taken

Motion made by: Pugh, Stephen E.

Motion: Defer Voluntary

Vote Date: 5/22/2019 9:48:49 AM

Motion made by: Smith, Patricia Haynes

Motion: Defer Involuntary

Vote:14-0Berthelot, John A.YeaVote Date:5/22/2019 9:50:03 AMDavis, PaulaYea

DuBuisson, Mary Yea Dwight, Stephen Yea Edmonds, Rick Yea Huval, Mike Yea Jenkins, Sam Yea Lyons, Rodney Yea Marcelle, C. Denise Yea Norton, Barbara M. Yea Pugh, Stephen E. Yea Smith, Patricia Haynes Yea Stagni, Joseph A. Yea Wright, Mark Yea

SB168 by LAFLEUR

Final Action: Involuntarily Deferred. (14-0)

SB229 by CLAITOR

Provides for continued collection of certain sales taxes within corporate limits of any municipality incorporated after a certain date. (gov sig)

Motion made by: Marcelle, C. Denise

Motion: Motion to suspend 24-hour rule for amendments

Vote: Berthelot, John A. Nay Billiot, Robert E. Yea **Vote Date:** 5/22/2019 10:43:10 AM Davis, Paula Nay Objection by: DuBuisson, Mary Nay Stagni, Joseph A. Dwight, Stephen Nay Edmonds, Rick Nay Hilferty, Stephanie Nay Huval, Mike Nay Jenkins, Sam Yea Lyons, Rodney Yea Marcelle, C. Denise Yea

Marcelle, C. Denise

Norton, Barbara M.

Smith, Patricia Haynes

Stagni, Joseph A.

Wright, Mark

Yea

Nay

No Vote Taken

Motion made by: Marcelle, C. Denise

Motion: Defer Involuntary

Vote Date: 5/22/2019 10:44:27 AM

Objection by: Edmonds, Rick

SB229 by CLAITOR

Provides for continued collection of certain sales taxes within corporate limits of any municipality incorporated after a certain date. (gov sig)

Substitute

Motion made by: Edmonds, Rick

Motion: Favorably

Vote:11-5Berthelot, John A.YeaVote Date:5/22/2019 11:09:22 AMBilliot, Robert E.YeaDavis, PaulaYea

Objection by: Norton, Barbara M. Davis, Paula Yea

Objection by: Norton, Barbara M. DuBuisson, Mary Yea

Dwight, Stephen Yea Edmonds, Rick Yea Yea Hilferty, Stephanie Huval, Mike Yea Jenkins, Sam Nay Lyons, Rodney Nay Marcelle, C. Denise Nay Norton, Barbara M. Nay Pugh, Stephen E. Yea Smith, Patricia Haynes Nay Stagni, Joseph A. Yea

Wright, Mark Yea

SB229 by CLAITOR

Final Action: Reported favorably. (11-5)

Motion made by: Pugh, Stephen E.

Motion: Adjourn

Vote:16-0Berthelot, John A.YeaVote Date:5/22/2019 11:11:11 AMBilliot, Robert E.Yea

Davis, Paula Yea DuBuisson, Mary Yea Dwight, Stephen Yea Edmonds, Rick Yea Hilferty, Stephanie Yea Huval, Mike Yea Jenkins, Sam Yea Lyons, Rodney Yea Marcelle, C. Denise Yea Norton, Barbara M. Yea

> Pugh, Stephen E. Yea Smith, Patricia Haynes Yea Stagni, Joseph A. Yea Wright, Mark Yea