

## NEWS RELEASE

Contact:

For Immediate Release

act: Sheila McCant LA House of Representatives Office of Public Information Phone: (225) 342-9795

DATE: March 4, 2010

## LEGISLATIVE LEADERSHIP ESTABLISHES HURRICANE RECOVERY COMMITTEE

House Speaker Jim Tucker and Senate President Joel Chaisson have established a Select Committee on Hurricane Recovery which will be comprised of members of the House and Senate. The committee will review issues related to hurricane recovery and will act as an oversight committee to handle the sunset of the Louisiana Recovery Authority (LRA) and the shift in program administration from the LRA as it moves to the Office of Community Development/Disaster Recovery Unit (OCD/DRU). This will include the administration of funding currently going to these three entities as well as any funding that may be made available from any and all sources in the future.

The committee will act in an advisory capacity, making recommendations to the House and Senate concerning hurricane policies in an attempt to speed recovery in all affected areas of the state.

Tucker said, "Sound policy is essential to our state's long-term recovery. As we all know, the devastating hurricanes of the recent past continue to affect Louisiana families, our economy, and therefore our future. If we are to make a positive recovery, we must rebuild these hurricane-affected areas to be safer and more appealing to businesses and families. Only then will we bring people and businesses back and move our state forward. I look to this committee to explore all avenues for smart solutions in order to speed our state's recovery." Representative Neil Abramson will serve as committee chairman for the first year. The chairmanship will then be filled by a state senator appointed by President Chaisson.

Committee members are Reps. Neil Abramson, Jared Brossett, Simone Champagne, Reed Henderson, Kirk Talbot, and Senators John Alario, Ann Duplessis, Dan Morrish, Ed Murray, and Karen Carter Peterson.

Bob Barbor, formerly with the office of Community Development, will staff the committee.

##