JOINT RESOLUTION

OF

THE CARROLLTON/RIVERBEND NEIGHBORHOOD ASSOCIATION

AND

THE MAPLE AREA RESIDENTS, INC.

AND

THE UPTOWN TRIANGLE NEIGHBORHOOD ASSOCIATION

AND

THE CENTRAL CARROLLTON NEIGHBORHOOD ASSOCIATION

Resolution Urging the Legislature to Include Precincts 17-1, 16-1, 16-1A, and 16-2 in an Orleans Parish Legislative District

March 21, 2011

Whereas:

Precincts 17-1, 16-1, 16-1A, and 16-2 fall within the boundaries of the Carrollton Riverbend Neighborhood Association, the Uptown Triangle Neighborhood Association, and Maple Are Residents, Inc.

Whereas:

Precincts 17-1, 16-1, 16-1A, and 16-2 are currently part of Legislative District 82.

Whereas:

Legislative District 82 is a Jefferson Parish district. The vast majority of the District's land mass is located in Jefferson Parish and the vast majority of the District's population lives in Jefferson Parish. The District has been represented by Jefferson Parish residents in the Legislature for at least fifteen years.

Whereas:

The membership of the Carrollton Riverbend Neighborhood Association, the Uptown Triangle Neighborhood Association, and Maple Are Residents, Inc. believe that these distinct New Orleans neighborhoods would be best represented in the Louisiana Legislature by a resident of Orleans Parish who can devote his or her full attention to the City's needs

Whereas:

The Legislature is embarking on the decennial re-districting process, and has the opportunity to include precincts 17-1, 16-1, 16-1A, an 16-2 in an Orleans Parish Legislative District.

Be it Resolved:

That the Board of Directors of the Carrollton Riverbend Neighborhood Association, the Uptown Triangle Neighborhood Association, and Maple Are Residents, Inc. urge the Legislature to include precincts 17-1, 16-1, 16-1A, and 16-2 in an Orleans Parish Legislative District. This measure was considered and passed on this day, March 21, 2011, in the City of New Orleans.

Jerry Speir

President, Carrollton Riverbend Neighborhood Association

Tommy Milner

President, Maple Area Residents, Inc.

H.V. Nagendra

President, Central Carrollton Association

Patrick Tucker

President, Uptown Triangle Neighborhood Association