~Acadiana Legislative Delegation~



PRESS RELEASE

For Immediate Release

ACADIANA DELEGATION ELECTS OFFICERS

State Representative Mike Huval, R-Breaux Bridge, has been unanimously re-elected to lead the Acadiana Legislative Delegation for 2023.

First elected chairman in 2017, Huval represents House District 46, which includes parts of St. Martin, St. Landry, and Iberia parishes.

"I'm proud to be chosen to lead the Acadiana Legislative Delegation once again," he said.

"There is nowhere on earth quite like the Acadiana! We represent some of the best people, food, music, and culture in the nation."

The Acadiana Delegation is "the only delegation in the Louisiana Legislature that represents both a geographical area and a culture," Huval said. "We are laser-focused on preserving our French and Creole heritage."

Preservation is important, he said, because "Every culture and language are just one generation away from extinction. If we work together, we can make sure our children's children will live in a Louisiana alive and flourishing in its Cajun and Creole cultures for decades to come."

Huval chairs the House Insurance Committee and is a member of the Atchafalaya Basin Program Oversight Committee, the House Executive Committee, and the House Select Leadership Committee.

Joining Huval as Acadiana Delegation executive officers are Rep. Beau Beaullieu, R-New Iberia, as vice chairman, and Rep. Marcus Bryant, D-New Iberia, as secretary-treasurer.

Huval also appointed six members to serve on the Executive Committee.

The committee consists of Representatives Vincent Pierre, D-Lafayette, Jonathan Goudeau. R-Lafayette, and Rhonda Butler, R-Ville Platte, and Senators Jeremy Stine, R-Lake Charles, Gerald Boudreaux, D-Lafayette, and Gary Smith, D-Norco.

Formed in 1979, the Acadiana Delegation consists of 36 House members and 12 Senate members elected from the 22 parishes recognized by the state as the Acadiana Region.